Shared Line Honours At The 2015 Australian Boat Race

by Lauren O'Connor on October 28, 2015
The University of Melbourne and the University of Sydney shared line honours at the conclusion of the 2015 Australian Boat Race. Living up to its premier status, the boat race attracted hundreds of spectators who not only lined the banks of Melbourne’s Yarra River but also joined the peloton of cyclists who followed the boats down the 4.2km course. The humid conditions didn’t phase the Sydney University Boat Club men’s crew who triumphed over Melbourne by 4 boat lengths. Going head to head on Melbourne’s Yarra River, Sydney University cemented their position early, taking Melbourne University Boat Club into the first corner. From there it was a race of catch-me-if-you-can with the Sydney crew proving too strong for Melbourne. With the wind picking up to form a strong cross breeze, the women’s crews definitely had the harsher conditions of the day. Melbourne University however showed the ability to adapt to the environment and continued their unbeatable run over Sydney Uni rowing. Winning by 10 boat lengths, the Melbourne University women’s crew now has an impressive record of seven wins in a row. The Australian Boat Race returns to the battleground of Sydney Harbour in 2016 where the fierce rivalry will continue.
Purchase options
Select a purchase option to pre order this product
Countdown header
Countdown message